Tuesday’s Word-My Worship Is For Real

Tuesday’s Word
My Worship Is For Real
Psalms 29:2

“Give unto the LORD the glory due unto his name; worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness.”

God has allowed me to spend a long time on this Earth and it is because of Him that I am truly grateful. I was thinking of what to share today from the Word, but I have nothing but praise on my lips today. As the song by Bishop Larry Trotter says:

“You don’t know my story,
All thing things that I’ve been through,
You can’t feel my pain,
What I had to go through to get here,
You’ll never understand my praise,
Don’t try to figure it out;

Chorus:
“Because my worship is for real”

You see it took a long time for me to come into these forty plus years…it just didn’t happen overnight. There have been a lot of ups and downs, there have been some hills and mountains, there have been some push-downs and turnarounds (My God) there have been some upsets and disappointments and sprinkle in a little hurt and defeats but in ALLLLLLL of that, God has been there. So when you see me smiling…when you see me laughing through my tears don’t worry about me. Just know that I’m thinking about some of the times in my life and that God has brought me from. Yeah, I have to reminiscence about the times I didn’t have nothing but God provided for me. I can’t forget how some people walked away from my life but as He subtracted them, He added new ones to stand in their place. I accept how He took some of the material and monetary things in my life and replaced it with joy , happiness and faith…because IF He hadn’t, I would have lost those things to money, lust and the cares of this world. Family, all I’m trying to say is that you don’t have to worry about me with the things I don’t have. Don’t worry about the particular status that I don’t have; because MY worship is for real.

Well, why are you telling us this; well, I’m glad you asked. The reason I wanted to let you know this is because through it all, the most constant thing has been God in my life. The word “worship” means “adore, love, revere, pray to, venerate, honor, respect, hold in the highest regard”…you get what I’m saying? You have to be careful when using this word, because some people can interchange it with “love”. The word is used over 100 times in the Bible and it is an act to glorify God. When I tell you this, I’m not saying that I HAVE done everything right, but HE HAS done right by me. When I finally came to my senses about my love for Him, everything began to come into place. No, I’m not where I want to be, but I can truly say that I am not where I used to be. Bible says that we must WORSHIP Him in spirit and in truth. It says that God inhabits the praises (worship) of His people. I could go on and on about this, but all I’m trying to say is my worship is for real.

Some people get mad at me when I talk about God, but let me tell you just a few things of what He has done for me. Forty something years ago, I was born two months premature; I spent nearly a month in the hospital because I was too small to go home. Besides being too small, I had pneumonia. Can you imagine the life expectancy a baby being born two months early and weighing 3.1 lbs WITH this illness? I was so tiny that I had to be fed through my ankles which have left a scar to this day. It took a long time for me to understand that not everyone has scars on their ankles, but God brought me through that. Fast forward about 20 years, I was working at the community college in Tallahassee. When, while setting a steel beam in place for a concrete pour, the arm of a forklift hit me in the head. There was nothing beneath me but steel dowels (metal posts coming out of the ground) and concrete blocks and I didn’t have a harness on to protect me from the fall. When the arm hit me, I was knocked unconscious but (glory to God) my arm was wrapped around the arm that hit me in the head and the hard hat I had on was split in two and laying on the dial that I WOULD have hit. These are just a few things to let you know that when you see me not stressing over the small things…know that MY WORSHIP…the things that I have been through has carried me to another place and because of that My WORSHIP is for real.

When I look back over my life, I want to say thank you to my family for being there. Thank you to the friends near and far; I know I don’t call or communicate with every person that I know, but God knows my heart. Thanks to every person that has touch my life in a positive way, knowing that you have made this life a pleasant one and I appreciate you. Then I want to thank every person that didn’t have my best interest in mind. Thanks to all of the ugly words, thoughts and deeds that were said on my behalf. Thank you for EVERY stumbling block, every ditch, every device that WAS meant for me. Thank you for telling me I’m no good, I can’t do, I will never be…thank you for NOT giving me the thing that I asked for, for NOT telling me thank you, for NOT praying for me (you have to be careful with that), for NOT making it easy, for the promotion you didn’t give, etc., because it was not in God’s plan. In all these things, Bible says that ALL things work together for good…right there it should let you know that you don’t have to worry about it; Glory, we DO win in the end. But even when you feel down, give God your worship; when it gets a little hard, worship Him, when you feel like you just can’t make it, WORSHIP HIM. Thank you God for allowing me to see another year and I want to proclaim that my worship is for real.

#WorkYourFaith

Leave a Reply

