Wednesday’s Word-Wherever I Go

Wednesday’s Word
Wherever I Go
Psalms 139

I feel that this is one of the most powerful divisions of the book of Psalms. This tells us of God, who He is (character), what He does (action), and what He knows. To me, to know God is to know Psalms 139. While reading this, I began to break this down in three sections. All three being attributes of God. Verses 1-6, speak of His omniscience (all-knowledge), verses 7-12, speak of His omnipresence (everywhere at once) and verses 13-24, speak of His omnipotence (all-powerful).

Omniscience (vvs. 1-6)

I remember growing up, that people would say, “I may not see you do anything wrong, but God sees and knows everything”. Verse one says, “O Lord, thou hast searched me, and known me”. Even before He searched us He already knew us. He knows our rising and falling and distant thoughts(v2), all our ways (v3), every word we speak (v4), our every move (v5) and this is too much for us to understand (v6).

Omnipresence (vss. 7-12)

This is my favorite part of Psalms 139. Just to know that God is there, wherever you go, when you are in the right or wrong place, He is there. You can’t hide from God, no matter where you go. Verse seven ask two questions, “whither shall I go from thy spirit? Or whither shall I flee from thy presence?” It took the psalmist five verses to convince and explain to us that we can’t hide. Not in heaven or hell (v8), not in the sea (v9), not even in darkness (vss11-2). Verse ten explains it all, in all these places, “even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.” Even in our wrong-doing, He’s there.

Omnipotence (vvs. 13-22)

You can’t say too much about His power. The psalmist exclaims, “for thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mothers womb”,(vs 13), which is to say, you made me from my mother’s womb. You knew what You wanted to make me. The psalmist didn’t want to put this gentle side of God’s power without speaking of the wrathful power of the Lord possesses (vvs. 19-22).

Verses 23&24 relate and tie-in to verses 1&2, look at it this way. “Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts” (v23)…now, “O Lord thou hast searched me, and know me,” (v1), “thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising; thou understandst my thought afar off (v2), …so now, “…see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting” (v24).

We can look at this psalm like an outline for prayer. First, tell the Lord what He already knows (confession), acknowledge Him, His ways. Secondly, while you are acknowledging Him, praise and worship Him (adoration). Let God know that you appreciate Him, His works. Lastly, ask God for His forgiveness and to set you straight (redemption and correction). Offer up a petition to God. He is a just God. He will forgive you of your sins, go to Him because there is no hiding place.

#WorkYourFaith

Leave a Reply

