Thursday’s Word-Through The Motions

Thursday’s Word
Through The Motions
Isaiah 29:13 GNT

The Lord said, “These people claim to worship me, but their words are meaningless, and their hearts are somewhere else. Their religion is nothing but human rules and traditions, which they have simply memorized.”

Have you ever watched kids when they memorize things? How they can just doing it without thinking about it? When my son was younger, he was playing a video game and I asked him to recite something. Right on cue and without taking his eyes off the screen, he told me what I asked without any feelings, emotions, or a care in the world. What he cared about was not losing his spot on the virtual playing field. The words flowed like silk off his tongue and if your eyes were closed, you would swear he was tops in his class. But his actions, his mannerisms, his attitude, his mind was in a different place.

In the piece of Scripture, the Lord was telling his prophet that the people know what to do, they know what to say, they understand what I feel, but they are just going through the motions. They don’t care about what I say, but have put their ideas and thoughts, their laws and ways ahead of Me. Have I not told them to worship in spirit and in truth…what kind of mess is this? They call out My Name, but are messy. They have taken what I have said and made it into a ritual. They have twisted My Words and made a man made law. Then have the audacity to say hallelujah to a lie.

God is looking for true worship, not patty cake praise. Don’t make His Words a memorized speech; live them and watch it take over your worship.

#WorkYourFaith

Leave a Reply

