Tuesday’s Word-Go To Sleep

Tuesday’s Word
Go To Sleep
Psalms 121

I was working with my uncle a couple of years back; assisting with running the business. I would get up in the morning and make the trek from one side of Atlanta to the other pick him up and then to the office. While driving to the office, he would always ask how I slept. I would tell him okay and he would say the same, then we would talk about any and everything. During a particular time, the business was a little rocky and things weren’t going well for my uncle, so during the drive, I had a different answer for him, but he would always respond the same. I would wonder how could you sleep well when all this stuff was going on…what is he thinking? On a particular morning, he could tell that something was on my mind, so instead of asking the question, “how did you sleep” he said, “do you want to know why I can sleep at night”? I had to know the answer to this question; I felt that he didn’t care and I was up worrying about his business more than he was.
“Yes”, I replied
He looked at me and said, “Dwayne, why not get your sleep, God is up all night. He will make a way, so there is no use for me and Him to stay up worrying about the same thing. You give it to him and get your sleep”.
I started thinking about it and there was nothing I could say.
He said, “no matter what happens during the week, by the end of the week, isn’t most of the things you worried about are solved”?
“Yes.”
“Well, get your sleep.”

The Psalmist started with, “I will lift mine eyes to the hills, whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth”. He knew that if he got in trouble, didn’t have enough to make it, or simply just needed some help, all he had to do was look up. How do we look up…we must humble ourselves to Him. James 4:6 says, “But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble”. James 4:10 says, “Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up”. 1 Peter 5:6 says, “Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time”. When we humble ourselves, He will lift us up but at His time…so get your sleep.

Not only that, but the word says He will keep you and preserve you. Do you understand that through all of the mess, He will keep you? Do you realize that no matter what is going on, He has your back? Can you fathom the thought that in the midst of it all, He is working it out for you? My God, He will never leave you, nor forsake you. No matter what comes against you, He will shield you from it. Don’t worry about what comes…there is nothing that He can’t work in your favor, so go ahead…get your sleep.

No matter how much I stayed up worrying, the problem would be there in the morning. In the morning, two things could happen, either the problem would be solved or the problem would still be there. My uncle had the notion to let God handle it…WOW. What a brilliant idea. So all I have to do is give it to God and go to sleep? Look at it this way, when you humble yourself (vs 1-2), don’t worry about it…He will be up with the situation (vs 3-4) and will keep you from being hurt (vs 5-6) and protect your coming and going from that time forward (vs 7-8). So go ahead…stop stressing the small stuff…give it to the man who has pulled all-nighters from the beginning of time. Just go to bed and get your sleep.

#WorkYourFaith

Leave a Reply

